The Review: David Baldacci

Last night I got a call from my mother in law thanking me for my latest book recommendation, The Guilty by David Baldacci. I am always happy when I suggest a book to someone and then they tell me how much they enjoyed it. I realize that there are plenty of books that I read that don’t strike anyone else’s fancy and vice versa but this time it was a hit!baldacci-pic

I read my first Baldacci about a year ago and have since read several. If someone were to ask me to describe the books in question I would, and have, said they are like a good Clancy without all of the nitty-gritty detail. Which tends to make them an easier and more enjoyable read for those times when you just aren’t that interested in how a specific gun or piece of machinery works. Not to say I don’t enjoy  Clancy!

Aside from my mother in law and myself enjoying Baldacci my husband, who up until now in our 15 year marriage has refrained from reading, has enjoyed a couple of his books. To the point that when he finished the last one he handed it to me and then hung around me like a two year old wanting to know what I thought even though I had just begun reading it.

The majority of his books are adult aimed but I’ve been pleased to find that they are neither crude or gory without necessity. And as a mother of four girls I am also excited to note that of all of his books that I have read thus far he has a strong female character in each. He has the ability to write witty and entertaining dialogue that not only brings a smile to the reader but offers a realistic view of the characters. You get what they are saying and can almost hear the sarcasm dripping off the page.

David Baldacci began writing as a child and published his first novel in 1996. With over 30 novels in print in several countries across the globe he is certainly in an international best seller.

As with any books/authors I review you can find their works for sale on our sister
Facebook store at http://www.facebook.com/sugarcreekbooks.

Don’t forget to leave your comments on why you enjoy David Baldacci or your recommendations for other authors I should review.

Leave a Reply

