Review: Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

images (2)Originally published in 1938 Rebecca is, in every sense of the word, a classic. This fantastic story, written by English author Daphne Du Maurier, is so good in fact that it has been adapted both in 1940 and 1997 and has won several awards. In its long history it has never been out of print and continues to delight readers with its easy style and amazing story and characters.

download (3).jpg

 

This is one of those books that I came across on ListChallenges.com (refer to yesterdays post!). It was on several of the different lists I participate in so I thought it would be a great one to tackle. After all, I do love the satisfaction of marking things off of a list! I had absolutely no idea what I was getting into. I didn’t read the jacket or the reviews. I just dove right in. And let me tell you……..

download (2).jpgWith every twist and turn I fell more and more in love with the story as a whole. There were characters who were easy to hate but still I felt a sense of pity and then there were characters that I automatically loved but wished were just a touch less….something. For me that makes a great character. Someone who you recognize as being multifaceted, a real person.

download (4).jpg

But the genius of the story didn’t end with the characters that were perfectly imperfect. No, the story was a twisting, turning journey that kept me on my feet at all points. I am sure that there are people out there who have read this book and said, “I saw that coming” and maybe they did. But I’m just as sure that there were parts that they indeed did not “see coming”. And either way, the ride was worth the reading.

 

Obviously I am not going to give any spoilers. But I will say……READ IT! Whether written 80 years ago or last year, this book is amazing. If there weren’t so many other things to read I would definitely put this on my reread list. I still might!download (5)

You can find Rebecca, in both paperback and hardback, as well as many other books on our sister store’s site SugarCreekBooks.

Leave a Reply

